Home > Uncategorized > So Its the End of the World Again

So Its the End of the World Again

So its May 21st, which if you haven’t heard was supposed to be the end of the world. Hopefully this isn’t a spoiler, but nothing happened.

My thoughts? Well… I guess for one thing it means I’ll still have to go to work tomorrow. So there’s that.

Aside from that, I’ll say today was fairly amusing for everyone. I especially enjoyed CNN’s coverage of the non-event. Unfortunately I couldn’t track down clips in time for this post, but it was hilarious. Journalists are in general supposed to be good at reporting without letting their own opinions get in the way, but you could tell that every single anchor on CNN thought that this was like the dumbest thing ever.

Aside from that, as many people point out, this isn’t the first time people thought the world was going to end and it didn’t. When I was growing up, I remember people thinking 1999 was going to be the end of the world because that date was predicted by Nostradamus (and to a lesser extent, the video game Chrono Trigger).

Then people said it would be 2000 due to Y2K. I still remember people also being kind of nervous about the date 6/6/2006 as well. And I think the same thing will happen in 2012 too.

Basically, it seems like the world is always ending and we’ve done pretty well so far. No matter what you believe, I think it’s best not to worry about such things. Maybe the world will never end. And even if it does, there’s not much we can do about that anyway, so we might as well enjoy the little things while we can.

I hope you all had a nice, safe Apocalypse, and hope you have a good day tomorrow as well.

  1. May 21, 2011 at 8:51 pm

    I don’t know if it happened anywhere else, but on the island where I live there are these deals where you can pay a “certified Atheist” to look after your pet after the rapture.

    Personally I don’t want to know when the end of the world will be. It takes the surprise away.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

